top of page

Final

A few years ago I came across an optical illusion book when I used to work at an optical store selling glasses. I experimented with making Op art and combining it with authentic images of my body.

At the beginning of my project, I had to look for a large open space to take photos. I used myself as the model and took digital images. Then, I edited the photos to be in black and white to capture different lights and shadows. The black and white photos give the images a better contrast with the different layers of Op art applied to the bodice, including the environment.

My art contains both real-life and abstract elements. It is about manipulating the rules of perspective and its relation to body dysmorphia. Those who suffer from BDD can become dramatically distorted with their body image. They often think about their perceived flaws and fear how other people see them.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page